infected

Where do artists find their bravery? Creative self-expression is incredibly risky business. It involves taking a chunk of your soul and doing the best that you can to put some tangible form to it.

And this world tells us to stuff our souls down and pretend they don’t exist. Souls are an intangible part of us that are not easily explained and therefore make us all a bit uneasy.

But our souls were created to live and thrive and express themselves. I find I am much better off when I live connected to myself, to my soul, and have some way of communicating that. To others, perhaps. But mostly to myself.

And art helps me connect with my soul and remember it is there and it is a part of me, no matter how uncomfortable that may be at times.

I have observed an infectiousness to art. People I don’t know, perhaps hundreds of years ago, perhaps ten minutes ago, wept and laughed and searched and journeyed in an effort to discover their soul.

And after the painfully wonderful process of finding this treasure, they found a very brave piece of themselves and used that to help them express that soul.

Then I or someone else sees it or hears it or reads it.

And somehow, some way, through the mystery of it all, the observer who is open to wonder and beauty and things that don’t make sense (hopefully me!) is touched. And amazingly, this person finds a piece of himself or herself through experiencing the art of another.

So art is a way we find ourselves and find one another.

But there is always a risk. Because not every individual is touched by art. Art is often misunderstood. Misconstrued. Misinterpreted. And so the artist is as well.

Art requires a commitment to bravery all the way through the process, from being willing to discover one’s soul to letting go and seeing where that soul takes us all the while letting go of what others might think of any end result. Including ourselves.

What art has moved you recently?

9 thoughts on “infected

  1. free penny press says:

    I recently saw some wonderful photographs (an exhibit) and I was struck by two things..The way the photographer was able to present to us such beauty on film and how absolutely beautiful people on our planet really are..Viva la Arts!!!

  2. hiddinsight says:

    I’d really like to say “MINE!” but I’m not quite brave enough yet. Getting there though…

  3. “So art is a way we find ourselves and find one another.” YES! I absolutely love this!!

  4. To create any kind of real art does require a certain kind of bravery. Most times you’re putting a bit of your naked, raw self out in public. Good art will normally evoke some kind of response. That can be unnerving. I’ve made a living my whole working life, from the time I was about 15 until now being creative in various ways. Most people like me learn early on that if we concern ourselves too much with wanting to be liked by others, we lose the ability to have that kind of bravery. For me great art can evoke all sorts of emotions.. it can be joy, awe at the beauty at what is there… or repulsed by the subject matter. The response of the viewer or listener is so subjective too. Putting any kind of art out there means releasing control of it and people’s responses. The wonderful thing is that years later, someone you don’t even know could be touched by something you’ve written or drawn or photographed etc.

    After all these years of being so intimately involved in the creative process, one of the most important things I’ve learned is that I’m most effective creatively when I’m most alive as a human being and most vitally connected to my relationship with God. That’s when I feel most comfortable in my own skin. Then the music, art, photography and writing I produce is most real and I’m more likely to create and put stuff out there with less fear. It’s also when I’m most able to appreciate the art of others in a deep deep way.

    As far as your question… lately the painting Starry, Starry night has been incredibly moving to me.

    • Rebecca Koo says:

      Linda, I love reading your response here. What wonderful input you have on this and I have so much respect for someone who has invested so much in their creative process over time. I love all of what you said, but especially was struck by “if we concern ourselves too much with wanting to be liked by others, we lose the ability to have that kind of bravery”. Well said my friend!!!

Leave a Reply

