my revivers

Sometimes when I get to them, I am barely breathing. Life has a choke hold around my throat and the air hardly whispers through me. I am moments away from running out. Of air. Of patience. Of endurance. Of me.

I collapse in their arms. Their hearts enfold me. They cover me with themselves. They listen. They wipe my tears. They let me be a mess. They love me. And I think for the first time in what feels like forever that I just might make it.

My friends are mighty warriors who go to bat for me against the demons I fight. They remind me of truth. They cheer me on. They let me rest my dry and weary bones in their arms and they hold me.

They may do this over the phone or through an email. Maybe on the playground at school. They may do it in one of our homes in between kid squabbles and snack making. Or maybe on the steps of their porch in the one and only moment we have which will be over before we want it to be, but we take what we can get.

And I love them. Each and every one. I know I could not make it through this life without them. Because I have had some fierce battles to fight. Battles that would have done me in if I did not have them in my corner.

Surely I would have lost myself along the way if they were not there to find me. They forever remind me who I am and that I am worth fighting for. I owe them everything and yet indebtedness doesn’t compute in friendship.

When I walk away I know they have just breathed life back into me. They haven’t solve my problems or fixed me, but they have kept me alive. They have heard me and understood me and loved me – whether we talked at length or just a hello – and my airway is clear once again.

2 thoughts on “my revivers

  1. Simon Marsh says:

    Hey Rebecca, this has a lovely ring and rhythm of Psalm 23 about it: The Lord is my shepherd … andd my airway is clear once again.

    No need to respond – but please just know anyway that I mentioned you the other day …

    http://simonmarsh.org/personal/awards/

    Love and happiness for you today 🙂 x

  2. Rebecca Koo says:

    Simon! Thank you so very much! I will go look at this post right now! What a wonderful parallel to Psalm 23, thank you and I am honored to have you in my life!

Leave a Reply

