oops…my roots are showing

When I saw these trees I immediately sensed they were showing me something about myself. Sometimes I feel like my roots are exposed. Like others can see parts of me meant for keeping underground.

I do not hide my emotions well. Add to it the fact that I blush easier than an elephant gains weight. And I am one of the fairest people you will ever meet, so my crimson shade has very little pigment to hide behind.

I am not a pretty crier, either. My nose turns into a faucet of snot and my eyes turn red and blotchy and it is about the most hideous thing you have ever seen. And it takes hours for me to look normal. Again, the fair skin does me no favors here.

Sometimes I am okay being so vulnerable. Sometimes it is intentional, like when I am around safe people whose love I can count on. Or when I am being brave and purposefully putting myself out there in my writing or by making a new friend.

And then there are other times when it’s an accident. When my emotions are controlling me for the moment and I am embarrassed and can do nothing else other than live through the experience and somehow make it out the other side.

But then I see these trees with their roots exposed and I think it is one of the most exquisite things I have ever seen in my life. Somehow it is ugly and breathtaking all at once. And I understand, ever so slightly, why we find such beauty in the transparency of one another.

These roots – these things that most of the time stay underground and out of sight – are a beautiful, mysterious mess. Just like me.

6 thoughts on “oops…my roots are showing

  1. Oh wow! I loved this post! I felt like I was reading about myself! You turn a dark shade of red easily too??? Welcome to my life. You are not alone my friend:)

  2. Diane says:

    Well said, Friend. Show your roots! I’m getting way more comfortable with mine.

  3. Eiley Ehle says:

    I love this -there’s different ways you can think of roots showing. When I first saw the title I was thinking of hair and so the tree roots were a fun surprise! Especially with the pics! I loved the direction your writing took -it definitely caught my attention! You just continue to blossom!
    love you!

Leave a Reply

