naked

Today is not this day. Today I have my makeup on, a bright purple ruffle-y scarf around my neck with a cute pink necklace peeking out underneath, copious amounts of bracelets clanging around my wrist, a fun new pair of knee-highs, and of course the boots I feel so sassy in. And it’s fun.

Most of the time I like putting my best foot forward in the day even if that day involves dropping off and picking up children, doing dishes, folding laundry, and cooking dinner. Because although I graduated from UC Santa Cruz, fashion and makeup are fun for me.

But not yesterday. I didn’t have a best foot to put forward yesterday. All I had was a foot. And I didn’t feel like pretending or working my way out of it either. So although I showered, I left the makeup off.

The freckles that have taken over my face in a way that by this time in my life is probably called aging showed in all their glory.

My eyelashes remained invisible.

The wrinkles that have started to emerge were not minimized by foundation.

And my nose that likes to turn red was one that even Rudolf would have been proud of.

I have these days from time to time. I think everyone does. Days when the fun of getting dressed up isn’t fun. Days when sadness seems to loom over my head and sorting it out to get better and move through it feels overwhelming. Days when the wounds of life catch up and I just need to take a moment and let it be so.

And on days like that I leave the makeup in the medicine cabinet and let the people in my world see that I do not have it all together, that I am not indestructible, that I am not super-human. Because I think the people in my world need to know all of that. Including me.

We often think everyone else has life all-together, knows what they are doing, never has bad days.

We tend to feel alone in our struggles. In our humanity.

And it’s just not true.

And that is why I left my makeup off and took this picture and wrote this post. I needed the honesty of someone standing naked in the middle of the rush hour of life shouting, “I can’t do it all!” Even if it was me. Maybe especially if it was me.

37 thoughts on “naked

  1. ckp says:

    Rebecca, I look at your photo, and I think you are beautiful without your makeup! In college, my girlfriends and I called those kinds of days as having the “unlovelies”. When you just feel blah and, well, un-lovely. I still have them now and again. And I, too, have plenty of freckles and wrinkles, and oddly enough, hardly any eyelashes at all. Thanks for your realness and honesty.

  2. I absolutely love this. And yes, we all have those days (they’re part of what makes us beautiful). ❤

  3. I love the way this shines a light on what the enemy tries to tell us and make us believe-you are right! We are NOT alone, sometimes others do NOT know what they are doing, and do NOT have it altogether, either. Appreciate the permission this gives to us to be REAL and allow God and others to come in and love us just as we are in the process of His transformation!

  4. Kristal Johnson says:

    You look beautiful.

  5. Susan says:

    (sigh) God has been reminding me of this truth so much this week…no one has it all together even if it appears that they do. I need to focus on Jesus and His love for me in the midst of my “real” life! Thanks again for always sharing from your heart in a way that grabs mine!! Write your book and I will buy it!!!! Your voice is needed!!!!

  6. April says:

    Oh my gosh! Thank you so much for writing this.I needed to not feel like the only one, especially today!

    • itsakoolife says:

      April, I am so glad you got a little of what you needed to find here. You can just tuck this one away and pull it out whenever you need to know you are not the only one. I’m right there, too. Thank you for sharing.

  7. […] words saved me. I woke up after that naked day still in a fog from life. Since I spent the day before naked, today I was going to dig around […]

  8. Jeff Goins says:

    Brilliant and beautiful.

  9. Meggie says:

    Sometimes I think we all need to leave the makeup off and see ourselves for who we are, not who we want to be or are aspiring to be. Love this post.

  10. Annie says:

    I loved this!

  11. susan upp says:

    So brave. You are lovely. Thank you for you.

  12. I cringed and smiled as I read this. Brilliant, engaging and oh-so-resonating to my mind. Thank you for bringing realness to the table and serving it up so beautifully.

    http://crayonwrangler.com

  13. Pure truth. I’ve been having a lot of these kinds of days lately and pondering how to put the feelings into words. Thank you for sharing.

  14. Annette says:

    i just saw this post bc a friend of mine posted it, but i think you are y beautiful even without all the illusions that makeup brings… anyone can look pretty with enough money and foundation, but it takes someone really special to look good without it on! Blessings to you!

  15. Girl, you were one step ahead of me yesterday. You showered! Loved this honest post. You are not alone.

  16. I personally like to see people age
    there is such beauty in freckles, wrinkles and the other marks that makes us human.
    The plastic-like-robots media feeds us with makes me feel nothing.

    i hope you do not need a bad day to leave the make up off.Remember that beauty is in the eye of the beholder

    I’d say it would be a perfectly lovely day if all people at the same time left their make-up off and just wore themselves for one day.

    perfect love

  17. rebecca koo says:

    Such a beautiful thought – if everyone wore themselves for one day. What a wonderful day that would be. Thank you so very much. And yes, there are many other days I leave my makeup off, too (like today!).

  18. I used to work for a pastor who kept telling me that if we let people in the congregation see our flaws and humanity they wouldn’t respect our ministry. I told him that was B.S. I think when we are willing to let people really see who we are, we give them the freedom to be who they are as well. Sometimes life is just painful and messy. I love having a tribe of people around me who can see me at my worst, or my most broken, and still hope the best from me and of me… they always believe that God will complete what He started in my life. We are knit together by our common need for grace and mercy. I love it when we can share that kind of raw life with each other.

    • itsakoolife says:

      Such beautiful thoughts here, thank you so very much for sharing. I love how you said, “We are knit together by our common need for grace and mercy.” So true. Thank you.

  19. […] Sometimes knowing exactly, and taking care to learn from the knowing. Sometimes feeling naked. (… so I hid myself). But it’s important we rememember that we’re talking about a […]

  20. […] watched The Odd Life of Timothy Green. And I realized my dear little post that feels so incredibly naked to me, so trusting of those around me to be gentle and kind to me and my son after reading it, is a […]

Leave a Reply

